Financial questions

Why does DKMS ask for monetary donations?

DKMS is dependent on monetary donations for the further expansion of the database. Although the costs incurred for registration have become significantly lower over time – from DM 600 to €35 – we still need to generate them from donations. Unfortunately, this price cannot fall any more without deviating from our standards of quality.

When DKMS was founded in 1991, we received start-up funding from German Cancer Aid and the Federal Ministry of Health for multiple years. However, this aid ceased at the end of 1994.

How is DKMS funded?

Until 1994, DKMS was financially supported by the German Cancer Aid and the Federal Ministry of Health. Since then our funding has rested on two pillars: Firstly, we receive monetary donations from individuals and businesses. Secondly, DKMS receives reimbursements from public health insurance funds for maintaining the database, carrying out additional laboratory examinations, and organizing the collection of stem cells.

Do I receive a tax donation receipt / donation certificate for my monetary donation?

We issue donation certificates for donations as little as 50 euro. Therefore, please make sure to provide us with your name and address: geldspende@dkms.de.

Confirmation of your donation: According to the last notice of exemption received by us and/or according to the appendix to the corporate tax assessment by the Tübingen tax authority, Tax ID No. 86168/15007 dated 05/25/2018, we are exempt from corporate tax in accordance with Section 5, Para. 1, Item 9 of the Corporate Tax Act and from trade tax in accordance with Section 3, Item 6 of the German Trade Tax Act due to the promotion of the humanitarian and charitable purposes below, the promotion of science and research as well as the promotion of public health knowledge.

It is confirmed that the contribution shall only be used for the promotion of humanitarian and charitable purposes below, the promotion of science and research as well as the promotion of public health knowledge.

Why doesn't my health insurance provider pay the cost for typing?

According to the provisions of Volume V of the Social Code (Sozialgesetzbuch V, SGB V), health insurance providers may only bear treatment costs for the recovery of the person insured. On the other hand, if you are eligible as a donor, the patient’s health insurance provider shall assume all additional costs arising due to a possible stem cell transplantation. These include further examinations of your blood as well as the costs associated with your stem cell donation in the hospital, your travel expenses, and any loss of earnings you may suffer.

Health insurance providers support us with file maintenance, among other things. The quality of donor data (e.g. up-to-date addresses) is very important for our work. This is one reason why DKMS sends a DKMS donor card to all potential stem cell donors and writes to them once a year. In this way, we can check addresses and keep you informed about new developments.

Who bears the costs when I donate stem cells to a patient?

The health insurance provider of the affected patients will pay for all required examinations and treatments in the run up to the donation, as well as for your hospital stay, if applicable. Likewise, it will assume the costs of any loss in earnings, travel costs, and other non-medical expenses. Cellex/CMS regulates all organizational aspects for you. You do not need to worry about anything. DKMS will handle the billing of the health insurance provider. The employees of Cellex/CMS are happy to advise you with regard to any questions you may have in connection with a stem cell donation.

Finanzielle Fragen

Warum fragt die DKMS nach Geldspenden?

Die DKMS ist für den weiteren Ausbau der Datei auf Geldspenden angewiesen. Denn obwohl die Kosten, die für die Registrierung anfallen, im Laufe der Zeit deutlich gesunken sind – von anfänglich 600 DM auf heute 35 Euro – müssen sie dennoch aus Spenden generiert werden. Leider lässt sich diese Preisspirale nicht beliebig weiter nach unten drehen, ohne von unserem Qualitätsanspruch abzuweichen.

Als die DKMS 1991 gegründet wurde, erhielten wir für mehrere Jahre eine Anschubfinanzierung von der Deutschen Krebshilfe und dem Bundesministerium für Gesundheit. Diese Hilfen liefen aber Ende 1994 aus.

Wie finanziert sich die DKMS?

Bis 1994 wurde die DKMS von der Deutschen Krebshilfe und dem Bundesministerium für Gesundheit finanziell unterstützt. Seitdem stützt sich unsere Finanzierung auf zwei Säulen: Zum einen erhalten wir Geldspenden von Privatpersonen und Unternehmen. Zum anderen erhält die DKMS Kostenerstattungen der Krankenkassen für die Pflege der Datei, die Durchführung von weiterführenden Laboruntersuchungen und die Organisation von Stammzellentnahmen.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unseren Jahresberichten.

Erhalte ich eine Zuwendungsbescheinigung / Spendenbescheinigung für meine Geldspende?

Ab einem Betrag von 50 Euro stellen wir Ihnen gerne eine Zuwendungsbestätigung aus, die Sie steuerlich geltend machen können. Bitte teilen Sie uns hierfür Ihren Namen und Ihre Adresse im Verwendungszweck mit.

Hinweis zur Zuwendungsbestätigung: Wir sind wegen Förderung mildtätiger Zwecke und folgender gemeinnütziger Zwecke, Förderung von Wissenschaft und Forschung sowie Förderung des öffentlichen Gesundheitswesens, nach dem letzten uns zugegangenen Freistellungsbescheid bzw. nach der Anlage zum Körperschaftssteuerbescheid des Finanzamtes Tübingen StNr. 86168/15007 vom 30.05.2017 nach § 5 Abs. 1 Nr. 9 des Körperschaftssteuergesetzes von der Körperschaftssteuer und nach § 3 Nr. 6 des Gewerbesteuergesetzes von der Gewerbesteuer befreit.

Es wird bestätigt, dass die Zuwendung nur zur Förderung mildtätiger Zwecke und folgender gemeinnütziger Zwecke, Förderung von Wissenschaft und Forschung sowie Förderung des öffentlichen Gesundheitswesens, verwendet wird.

Warum bezahlt die Krankenkasse meine Typisierung nicht?

Die Krankenkassen dürfen laut Bestimmungen des Sozialgesetzbuches V (SGB V) lediglich die Behandlungskosten zur Genesung der Versicherten tragen. Kommen Sie dagegen als Spender in Frage, übernimmt die Krankenkasse des Patienten alle weiteren Kosten, die durch eine eventuelle Stammzelltransplantation entstehen. Dies sind z.B. weiterführende Untersuchungen Ihres Blutes sowie die Kosten, die im Rahmen Ihrer Stammzellspende im Krankenhaus entstehen, wie auch Ihre Reisekosten und der eventuelle Verdienstausfall.

Die Krankenkassen unterstützen uns u.a. bei der sogenannten Bestandspflege. Für unsere Arbeit ist die Qualität der Spender-Daten z.B. hinsichtlich der Aktualität der Adressen sehr wichtig. Dies ist ein Grund dafür, dass die DKMS allen potenziellen Stammzellspendern eine DKMS-Spendercard zuschickt und einmal im Jahr mit dem Spendermailing anschreibt. Auf diese Weise überprüfen wir die Adressen und halten Sie über alles Neue auf dem Laufenden.

Wer trägt die Kosten, wenn ich für einen Patienten Stammzellen spende?

Die Krankenkasse des betroffenen Patienten bezahlt alle notwendigen Untersuchungen und Behandlungen im Vorfeld der Spende sowie Ihren eventuellen Krankenhausaufenthalt. Ebenso übernimmt sie die Kosten eines eventuellen Verdienstausfalls, Reisekosten und andere nichtmedizinische Aufwendungen. Die DKMS organisiert die An- und Abreise für Sie und übernimmt auch alle anfallenden Kosten inklusive Ihres Verdienstausfalls. Bei allen möglichen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit einer Stammzellspende stehen die Mitarbeiter der Work-up-Abteilung derDKMS Ihnen beratend zur Seite.

Wie kann ich meine Kontodaten ändern?

Ihre neuen Kontodaten können Sie uns ganz einfach und unkompliziert per E-Mail mitteilen.
Schicken Sie uns eine Nachricht!